Raising a Mini Pig: It Takes a Village

28 Mar
"Mini Pig in Hoodie"

My favorite sling

My mini pig friend Cocco recent post about needing a pigsitter and it got me thinking about all of mine.

"Mini pig on a walk"

Me and my Aunt Julia (one of my favorite pigsitters)

I’m a lucky fella who lives a life of luxury while my Mom works hard to bring home the bacon.

"Mini pig in lap"

Mommy and me at brunch

Traveling is part of her job so I get the piggy privilege of having my human friends take care of me while she is away.

"Mini pig in kitchen"

Love my pigsitter Aunt Caitlin

I like to think of them as mini vacations, where I get super spoiled, eat all the treats I can and get to be the center of attention.

"mini pig vacation"

Strolling on one of my mini pigsitter vacations

In fact, I make sure to be an ultra-good, mini pig for my pigsitters, so they will want to come back again soon.

"mini pig sitting"

my superb sitting skills in action for my pigsitter

Sometimes my madre will go on vacations that aren’t pig friendly so I get to go stay with my grandpig parent!!!

"mini pig sitting on steps"

Me and my Grandpig parent!

He is soo cool. Once he let me eat (on accident)  an entire box of cheerios in one afternoon. When I’m there I get to play with my dalmatian cousin Riley. And by play I mean I take over his backyard and he doesn’t give me any barks about it.

I also absolutely adore my cousin Peyton who is the best at translating what my oinks mean.

"Mini Pig in grass""Mini pig and toddler on grass"

Those are a few of the phenomenal humans I have in my life who have warmed this mini pig’s heart (and belly). Who takes care of you when your humans are away?

12 Responses to “Raising a Mini Pig: It Takes a Village”

  1. Genevieve Petrillo March 28, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Mom has never left me. She takes me everywhere. One of our neighbors said, “if you go on vacation, can I take care of Cupcake?” Mom said, “I don’t go on vacation.” and our neighbor said, “if you go to jail, can I take care of Cupcake?” OMGoodness! Mom is not a criminal!!! Our neighbor so is funny, and she is also my best dog friend’s mom. Hmmmm. If Mom goes to jail…….

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • PigandtheCity March 28, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

      Your neighbor is hilarious!!!! I don’t think your mom will ever go to jail Cupcake. You must love your mama A LOT bc I need my space sometimes and our time apart makes me appreciate her even more. Oinks and kisses, Huckleberry Finn

  2. finnhoward March 28, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    Love it!!! You get lots of human attention, that is so cool. When the peeps go away for a few days, they bring me to a dog sitter and she sends them a picture of me every day!

  3. Two French Bulldogs March 28, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    You have so many good piggy sitters! How wonderful, more treats! You are tiny, BOL
    Benny & Lily

    • PigandtheCity March 29, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks, Benny and Lily!!! I do love me some treats 🙂 Oinks and Kisses, Huckleberry Finn

  4. Norman The Pig March 28, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    Hi there! Just found your blog-I live in the Bay Area as well! I’m a 6 week old mini Pig named Norman! I’m loving the sunny CA weather, even though it’s been glooy it’s WAY better than Missouri where I came from! I’ve already taken over as boss hog to the Basset Hound and French Bulldog-I’m looking forward to following your blog!

    • PigandtheCity March 29, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      A mini pig in the Bay!? Hooray!! Pleasure to meet you Norman. I would love nothing more than to get together for a piggy playdate in one of San Francisco’s super parks.

  5. Long Life Cats and Dogs March 29, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    You are one lucky piggy to have so many wonderful people to look after you. Such adorable photos.

  6. katiebblogs March 29, 2013 at 3:50 am #

    Oh my goodness, send one of them over this way! You lucky pig you, all those friends and treats. You must be very well behaved!

    Piggy kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

    • PigandtheCity March 29, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      I will see if any of them will be traveling your way and can pig sit 🙂 In my opinion, I am very well behaved. But if you ask my mom she says 50% of the time. I can be quite mischievous if I want to. I just like to keep her on her toes.

Shoot me your comment